PHOTOGRAPHS

You were captured, framed,
and then hanged:
Moments were killed at one shot.
Only that you were really not dead.
Not then, and definitely not ever.

Some buried you
at the bottom of the earth;
Others, heart-deep,
Like what I did to you
Forever ago.

I never mourned over
the death of years’ prime,
Or cried over your conception
Because I knew then that your existence
would last more than my own.

© Gheeneil

2 Responses to “PHOTOGRAPHS

  1. I found this fascinating and heartfelt. It is a wonderful piece. Thank you, and I’m following your blog now….

Leave a Reply

